- 18.2-178. Obtaining money or signature, etc., by false pretense.
- If any person obtain, by any false pretense or token, from any person, with intent to defraud, money, a gift certificate or other property that may be the subject of larceny, he shall be deemed guilty of larceny thereof; or if he obtain, by any false pretense or token, with such intent, the signature of any person to a writing, the false making whereof would be forgery, he shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
- Venue for the trial of any person charged with an offense under this sectio
- any act was performed in furtherance of the offense, or
- the person charged with the offense resided at the time of the offense.
According to the state of Virginia’s Commonwealth, any allegations of false pretenses will be treated as a case of fraud. It is considered as stealing by lying. The state of Virginia treats every false pretenses charge as theft. Accordingly, the punishment for false pretenses is kept as a larceny. Based on the price of the obtained property, the punishment by the state will be set accordingly. Property can mean gift certificates, money, or any such property “subject of larceny.”
Proof of False Pretenses Charges in the state of Virginia
The state of Virginia’s Commonwealth has to provide proof before the offender is convicted of a false pretenses charge.
- The Commonwealth has to have solid proof of the offender has written, implied or spoken of making a false representation.
- The Commonwealth has to have solid proof of the offender’s intention to defraud another individual when the false representation was made.
- The Commonwealth has to have solid proof of the offender’s false representation resulting in another individual parting from their property.
- Finally, The Commonwealth has to have solid proof of the property’s value. The case of false pretense will be legitimate if the offender is found to have obtained both. Possession and the title of the money or property.
What is the Punishment for False Pretenses Charges in the state of Virginia?
As per this Code of Virginia, anyone caught of the offense of false pretenses will be held guilty of larceny. The state of Virginia’s Commonwealth punishes the offenders for the charge of a larceny.
Virginia larcenies are felonies or misdemeanors depending upon the taken property’s value.
- Misdemeanor (petty larceny): If the taken property is found to be of a value less than $200. The punishment of this charge will be to pay a fine no more than $2500, and jail time of no more than 12 months.
- Felony (grand larceny): The punishment of this charge will be to pay a fine no more than $2500, and jail time of no more than 1 to 20 years.
Obtaining Signature through False Pretenses
Obtaining signature through false pretenses in the state of Virginia is considered a Class 4 felony. The offender will be punished to pay a fine no more than $100,000, and jail time of no more than 2-10 years in prison.